Tuesday, March 26, 2013

HB 33 would give away state lands in return for a temporary easement




Sierra Club Florida ALERT!
Calls needed prior to Committee Vote 
on Wednesday, March 27 at 4:30 pm



HB 33 by Representative Jimmie T. Smith will be heard in the House Agriculture and Natural Resources Subcommittee tomorrow, Wednesday, March 27 at 4:30 p.m.

This bill proposes to give state lands away in return for a temporary easement. It does an end-run around statutes that ensure Florida gets equal or better value in any land exchange. And it could be applied to any land next to a state highway or state owned water body. Please call the members of the committee and tell them that Florida’s conservation lands belong to all of us and must not be given away for a song.


House Agriculture and Natural Resources Subcommittee 2013

Rep.                                  District Phone  Capitol Phone                 Email
Rep.  Matt Caldwell, Chair  (239) 694-0161  (850) 717-5079  matt.caldwell@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep.  Halsey Beshears       (850) 342-0016  (850) 717-5007                                          Halsey.Beshears@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep.  Jim Boyd                   (941) 708-4968  (850) 717-5071  jim.boyd@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep.  Katie A. Edwards       (954) 838-1371  (850) 717-5098  Katie.Edwards@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep.  Larry Lee (L)             (772) 595-1391  (850) 717-5084  Larry.Lee@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep.  Cary Pigman             (863) 386-6000  (850) 717-5055  Cary.Pigman@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep.  Ray Pilon                  (941) 955-8077  (850) 717-5072  ray.pilon@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep.  Elizabeth W. Porter    (386) 719-4600  (850) 717-5010  elizabeth.porter@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep.  Kevin Rader              (561) 218-5010  (850) 717-5081  kevin.rader@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep.  Betty Reed                (813) 241-8024  (850) 717-5061  betty.reed@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep.  Patrick Rooney, Jr.    (561) 625-5176  (850) 717-5085  pat.rooney@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep.  Clovis Watson (C)     (352) 264-4001  (850) 717-5020  Clovis.Watson@myfloridahouse.gov

Talking Points:
  • The state-owned land the private party might want title to could be sovereignty submerged land, State Forest, Everglades parcels,Green Swamp, you name it. These state-owned lands should not be up for a swap meet. 
  • Under no circumstances should the bill allow the Ordinary High Water Mark issue to be resolved in favor of turning over 500,000 acres of sovereign submerged lands to private interests in exchange for a conservation easement, permanent or temporary. (NB: Property owners on the state’s water bodies meet the condition of contiguousness.) 
  • If state lands are to be exchanged for a conservation easement, the easement should be permanent and the equal or better value provisions should apply. The state-owned land to be exchanged should only be non-conservation land. 

Thank You!

David Cullen
cullenasea@aol.com


Sierra ClubSierra Club Florida

1990 Central Avenue
St. Petersburg, FL 33712


1 comment:

Anonymous said...

http://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Committees/billvote.aspx?VoteId=28745&IsPCB=0&BillId=49223&

See the outcome at the address above. This is really disappointing!

Post a Comment