Wednesday, March 13, 2013

Everglades Pollution Bill (HB 7065) gives the sugar industry a free ride. Vote is Thurs PM. Call your Representative now!


Everglades Pollution Bill (HB 7065) gives the sugar industry a free ride.

The House Appropriations Committee will vote on this bill at 4 p.m. on Thursday, March 14. 

Call your state Representative now!


The Sierra Club opposes HB 7065, a bill that seeks to drastically weaken Everglades cleanup standards to benefit the sugar industry.


The ailing Everglades cannot afford delay. Its waters cannot be restored until polluting phosphorus effluent discharged by the sugar industry is cleaned up.


HB 7065 lets the sugar companies off the hook.


-          The bill caps the sugar companies’ share of the $880 million cleanup leaving the bulk on on the shoulders of taxpayers.

-          It does not require the sugar industry to further reduce phosphorus coming off their lands.

-          It doesn’t require the sugar companies to pay their fair share of the rising cost of cleanup and leaves the industry’s meager share at 14 percent of 1994 levels.


HB 7065 jumps the gun.


-          It tries to legalize on the state level a bad cleanup proposal that must ultimately be decided by the Federal Court.

-          It is highly unlikely the Federal Court would agree to this proposal that lets the sugar industry off the hook

-          It is a waste of state resources to pass a bill until a cleanup plan has been agreed to by the Federal Court.


HB 7065 hurts the 7.5 million Floridians who rely on the Everglades for their clean drinking water.


-          This bill allows the sugar industry to pollute in the same way they have been doing for years.

-          It takes away State accountability.


This bill was written for the benefit of the sugar industry. It creates potential conflicts with Federal rules and the Courts and allows polluters to continue their business as usual at the expense of the Everglades and taxpayers.


Take Action!

Check the list below and see if your Representative is on it. Call him or her, then call as many as you can starting with the counties closest to you. 

Tell the Representatives to vote against HB 7065 to protect the Everglades and the drinking water supply for almost 8 million people.

House Appropriations Committee 2013

Rep. Seth McKeel, Chair                    Polk                        (850) 717-5040     seth.mckeel@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep. Steve Crisafulli, V. Ch.              Brevard                  (850) 717-5051     steve.crisafulli@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep. Ben Albritton                               DeSoto                   (850) 717-5056     ben.albritton@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep. Dennis Baxley                            Marion                    (850) 717-5023     dennis.baxley@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep. Marti Coley                                  Holmes                  (850) 717-5005     marti.coley@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep. Richard Corcoran                      Pasco                     (850) 717-5037     richard.corcoran@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep. Janet Cruz                                   Hillsborough         (850) 717-5062     janet.cruz@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep. Erik Fresen                                 Miami-Dade           (850) 717-5114     erik.fresen@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep. Reggie Fullwood                       Duval                       (850) 717-5013     reggie.fullwood@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep. Joe Gibbons                               Broward                  (850) 717-5100     joe.gibbons@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep. Eddy Gonzalez                           Miami-Dade            (850) 717-5111     eddy.gonzalez@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep. Ed Hooper                                  Pinellas                   (850) 717-5067     ed.hooper@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep. Matt Hudson                               Collier                      (850) 717-5080     matt.hudson@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep. Clay Ingram                                Escambia               (850) 717-5001     clay.ingram@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep. Mia Jones (M)                             Duval                      (850) 717-5014     mia.jones@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep. Charles McBurney                     Duval                      (850) 717-5016     charles.mcburney@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep. Marlene O'Toole                         Lake                       (850) 717-5033     marlene.otoole@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep. Mark Pafford                                Palm Beach          (850) 717-5086     mark.pafford@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep. Jimmy T. Patronis                      Bay                         (850) 717-5006      jimmy.patronis@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep. Steve Precourt                            Orange                  (850) 717-5044      steve.precourt@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep. Hazelle P. Rogers                      Broward                (850) 717-5095      hazelle.rogers@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep. Darryl Rouson                             Hillsborough        (850) 717-5070     darryl.rouson@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep. Cynthia A. Stafford                      Miami-Dade          (850) 717-5109     cynthia.stafford@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep. W. Gregory Steube                     Manatee                (850) 717-5073     greg.steube@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep. Perry E. Thurston, Jr.                 Broward                 (850) 717-5094     perry.thurston@myfloridahouse.gov
Rep. Alan B. Williams                         Gadsden               (850) 717-5008     alan.williams@myfloridahouse.gov

7 comments:

Anonymous said...

Probably because most of them received donations from U.S. Sugar Corporation.

One J said...

michael kors outlet
burberry outlet
burberry sale
louis vuitton
coach outlet
ncaa jerseys
hollister jeans
ray ban sunglasses
oakley sunglasses sale
kobe bryant shoes 2015
michael kors outlet
mont blanc pens
chanel uk
louis vuitton handbags
abercrombie & fitch
ray ban glasses
gucci outlet online
louis vuitton
ray ban sungalss
louis vuitton handbags
prada outlet
ray ban sungalsses
chanel outlet
chanel handbags
abercrombie & fitch
aviator sunglasses
20150603yuanyuan

oakleyses said...

christian louboutin outlet, replica watches, christian louboutin shoes, michael kors outlet store, michael kors outlet online sale, nike outlet, longchamp outlet, kate spade outlet online, cheap oakley sunglasses, michael kors outlet online, michael kors outlet, red bottom shoes, prada outlet, tiffany and co, kate spade outlet, gucci handbags, longchamp handbags, longchamp outlet online, oakley sunglasses, burberry outlet online, burberry outlet online, chanel handbags, nike free, tory burch outlet online, coach outlet, ray ban outlet, tiffany jewelry, polo ralph lauren, michael kors handbags, nike air max, christian louboutin, prada handbags, ray ban sunglasses, oakley vault, michael kors outlet online, nike air max, jordan shoes, coach outlet, coach outlet store online, polo ralph lauren outlet

oakleyses said...

longchamp pas cher, converse pas cher, sac vanessa bruno, ray ban pas cher, nike air max, michael kors, ray ban uk, longchamp, true religion outlet, ralph lauren pas cher, true religion jeans, air jordan, ralph lauren uk, lacoste pas cher, michael kors canada, vans pas cher, lululemon outlet online, oakley pas cher, hermes pas cher, new balance pas cher, burberry pas cher, true religion outlet, nike roshe run, michael kors uk, nike free pas cher, hollister uk, tn pas cher, scarpe hogan, timberland pas cher, guess pas cher, mulberry uk, coach purses, nike air force, hollister, louboutin, air max pas cher, nike blazer pas cher, north face, true religion, north face pas cher

oakleyses said...

hollister, asics shoes, soccer shoes, nike free, p90x workout, nfl jerseys, mont blanc pens, lululemon outlet, herve leger, new balance outlet, birkin bag, giuseppe zanotti, instyler ionic styler, abercrombie and fitch, insanity workout, beats headphones, ferragamo shoes, nike air huarache, vans outlet, wedding dresses, chi flat iron, ghd, bottega veneta, nike air max, nike trainers, jimmy choo shoes, celine handbags, reebok shoes, north face jackets, nike roshe, babyliss, soccer jerseys, longchamp, mcm handbags, abercrombie and fitch, valentino shoes, north face jackets, air max, nike roshe, mac cosmetics

oakleyses said...

sac lancel, thomas sabo uk, iphone 6 case, toms outlet, juicy couture outlet, oakley, louboutin, converse shoes, converse, coach outlet, timberland boots, ralph lauren, nike air max, supra shoes, abercrombie, links of london uk, ray ban, vans, replica watches, air max, hollister clothing store, swarovski jewelry, montre femme, pandora jewelry, juicy couture, marc jacobs handbags, pandora charms, gucci, baseball bats, swarovski uk, karen millen, wedding dress, pandora uk, hollister canada

huali10 Cai said...

marc jacobs handbags
puma outlet store
pandora outlet
los angeles clippers jerseys
michael kors outlet
michael kors outlet
nike roshe
san antonio spurs jerseys
true religion
jordan shoes
the north face outlet store
stuart weitzman boots
cheap nfl jerseys
kate spade outlet
green bay packers jerseys
ray ban sunglasses
hollister clothing
chanel outlet
michael kors uk
mcm backpack
cheap ray ban sunglasses
barcelona jersey
kate spade outlet
jordan 4 retro
cheap jordans
christian louboutin shoes
ralph lauren outlet online
oakley sunglasses
chicago blackhawks jersey
chelsea jersey
louis vuitton outlet
insanity max 30
oakley outlet
custom mlb jerseys
thomas sabo bracelet
michael kors uk
zheng123 7.18

Post a Comment