Tuesday, November 1, 2016

Nov. 3 Press Events in 12 Florida Cities to Urge No Vote on Amendment 1

** PRESS ADVISORY **

WILDLY DIFFERENT VOICES, SAME MESSAGE, SAME DAY
Nov. 3 Press Events in 12 Florida Cities to Urge No Vote on Amendment 1

Who:          Elected officials, religious leaders, solar business owners, consumer advocates, environmentalists, solar energy customers, educators, and concerned voters – all fierce opponents of the anti-solar Amendment 1.  See also: http://www.flsolarchoice.org/who-opposes-amendment-1/

When:       Thursday, November 3, 2016

What:         Floridians from all walks of life, of every political stripe from the Tea Party to the Green Party, will gather together for simultaneous events in cities across Florida to send a clear message to Florida voters:  “Vote no on Amendment 1.”

Where:     Early voting locations in Ft. Myers, Gainesville, Hollywood, Miami, Orlando, Pensacola, Sarasota, and Tallahassee.  City Hall in St. Petersburg, Riverwalk in Tampa, a residential solar array in Titusville, and City Dock in West Palm Beach.

*There will be visuals*
Event Locations and Contacts

Ft. Myers
Schandler Park
11:30 am 
419 Royal Palm Park Road, Fort Myers, FL 33905
Contact:  Clifford Mitchem (Clean Renewable Energy Worldwide), 239-218-1354, crewswflsolar@gmail.com

Gainesville
Supervisor of Elections of Alachua County
11:30 a.m.
515 N Main St, Gainesville, FL 32601
Contact:  Barry Jacobson (Solar Impact, Inc.), 352-281-5946, info@solarimpact.com

Hollywood
Hollywood Branch Library
3 p.m.
2600 Hollywood Boulevard, Hollywood, FL 33020
Contact:  Paul Farren (The Energy Store), 954-662-2639, paul@energystore-usa.com

Miami
Stephen P. Clark Government Center 
3 p.m.
111 NW 1ST Street, Miami, FL 33128
Contacts:  Raul Vergara (Cutler Bay Solar Solutions), 786-457-5958, Raul@cutlerbaysolarsolutions.com;
Zelalem Adefris (Catalyst Miami), 651-785-5098, zelalema@catalystmiami.org

Orlando
Across the street from the Supervisor of Elections Office
11:30 a.m.
130 W. Kaley St., Orlando, 325806
Contacts:   Marty Sullivan (League of Women Voters Orange County), 407-484-0112, NatResLWVOC@cfl.rr.com; Athena Montes (Organize Now), 407-267-4266, Athena@organizeflorida.org

Pensacola
Ernie Lee Magaha Government Building
11:30 a.m.
221 Palafox Place, Pensacola, FL 32502
Contact:  Mary Gutierrez (Earth Action, Inc.), 850.549.7472, mary.earthethics@cox.net

Sarasota
Corner of Ringling Blvd and U.S. 301
11:30 a.m.
101 S. Washington Boulevard (U. S. 301), Sarasota, FL 34236
Contact:  Bill Johnson (Brilliant Harvest), 941-359-3700, Bill@BrilliantHarvest.com

St. Petersburg
St Petersburg City Hall – front steps
12 p.m.
175 5th St N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Contact:  Frank Jackalone (Sierra Club), 727-804-1317, frank.jackalone@sierraclub.org;

Tallahassee
11:30 a.m.
301 South Monroe Street, Tallahassee, FL 32301
Contacts:  Kim Ross (Rethink Energy Florida), 850-888-2565, kim@rethinkenergyflorida.org
Jonathon Webber (Florida Conservation Voters), 954-593-4449, jwebber@fcvoters.org

Tampa
The Straz Center (on Riverwalk behind)
3 p.m.
1010 N. W.C. MacInnes Place, Tampa, Florida 33602
Contact:  Kent Bailey (Sierra Club), 813-727-1202, kent.bailey@florida.sierraclub.org 

Titusville
Residential rooftop solar array
11:30 a.m.
612 Indian River Avenue, Titusville, FL 32796 (2 houses south of City Hall)
Contact:   Phil Stasik (Space Coast Progressive Alliance), 321-223-9007, stasik@cfl.rr.com

West Palm Beach
City Dock at Clematis Street
11:00 a.m.
Across the street from 101 S. Flagler Drive, West Palm Beach, FL 33401
Contact:  Jennifer Rennicks (Floridians for Solar Choice), 754-307-7451, jennifer@flsolarchoice.org



###