Thursday, May 5, 2011

Action Alert - Democracy and the Environment

Please call your Representative NOW and urge them to support Rep. Pafford’s amendment (barcode 269937) to strike the awful third party language in HB 993.  The bill could be taken up at any time. This is a real Democracy and the Environment issue. They're changing the way the legal system works to shut off meaningful access to the courts.

This is the language the House agreed to remove from 991 Environmental Permitting that puts the burden of proof on anyone challenging a license, permit, or conceptual approval.  Sen. Bennett amended the language back onto 993.

Rep. Pafford’s amendment would remove the part of the bill that assigns the burden of proof to the wrong party and overturns decades, if not centuries, of legal precedent in matters dealing with Water Resources, Land Reclamation, and Environmental Control by allowing the introduction of evidence by one party without any opportunity for the opposing party to respond to it.

I’ve attached an analysis of the section that is drawn to HB 991.  The line numbers are different in 993, but the language is identical.  Please call now if you can.  If you send an email please put “993 – Remove 3rd Party language” in the subject line.

Thanks!

You can find all the members representing your county by using “find” on your Edit menu or use Ctr +F to bring up the dialogue box, then either click in the “Highlight all items found in: Main Document” or use the  Alt + t shortcut.  Finally type the name of your county in the “Find what” box and click “Find All.”  This will highlight each instance of the county in the document.  Close the “find” dialogue box and click the yellow highlighter icon on your toolbar and each of the highlighted counties will remain highlighted so you can identify them easily.


Florida House 2011 (check the back of your voter card for your Representative’s District)
Representative                               District       Local Phone         Email Address                                              Local Delegations
Rep. Joseph Abruzzo                    85               (850) 488-4791    joseph.abruzzo@myfloridahouse.gov    Palm Beach
Rep. Janet Adkins                         12               (850) 488-6920    janet.adkins@myfloridahouse.gov         Baker, Bradford Clay, Duval, Nassau, Union
Rep. Larry Ahern                           51               (850) 488-6197    larry.ahern@myfloridahouse.gov            Pinellas
Rep. Ben Albritton                        66               (850) 488-9465    ben.albritton@myfloridahouse.gov         Hardee, Highlands, Polk
Rep. Frank Artiles                          119             (850) 488-9550    frank.artiles@myfloridahouse.gov          Miami-Dade
Rep. Gary Aubuchon                    74               (850) 488-7433    gary.aubuchon@myfloridahouse.gov    Charlotte, Lee
Rep. Dennis Baxley                      24               (850) 488-0335    dennis.baxley@myfloridahouse.gov       Marion
Rep. Leonard Bembry                  10               (850) 488-7870    leonard.bembry@myfloridahouse.gov   Alachua Columbia, Dixie, Franklin, Hamilton, Jefferson, Levy, Madison, Taylor, Wakulla
Rep. Lori Berman                          86               (850) 488-1662    lori.berman@myfloridahouse.gov           Palm Beach
Rep. Mack Bernard                      84               (850) 488-8632    mack.bernard@myfloridahouse.gov      Palm Beach
Rep. Michael Bileca                      117             (850) 488-6506    michael.bileca@myfloridahouse.gov      Miami-Dade
Rep. Jim Boyd                               68               (850) 488-4086    jim.boyd@myfloridahouse.gov               Hillsborough,  Manatee
Rep. Jeffrey ''Jeff'' Brandes         52               (850) 488-5719    jeff.brandes@myfloridahouse.gov          Pinellas
Rep. Jason T. Brodeur                  33               (850) 488-0468    jason.brodeur@myfloridahouse.gov       Orange, Seminole, Volusia
Rep. Doug Broxson                       1                  (850) 488-8188    doug.broxson@myfloridahouse.gov       Escambia, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa
Rep. Dwight M. Bullard (D)         118             (850) 488-5430    dwight.bullard@myfloridahouse.gov      Miami-Dade
Rep. Rachel Burgin                       56               (850) 488-9910    rachel.burgin@myfloridahouse.gov        Hillsborough
Rep. Matt Caldwell                       73               (850) 488-1541    matt.caldwell@myfloridahouse.gov       Lee
Rep. Daphne Campbell                108             (850) 488-4233    daphne.campbell@myfloridahouse.gov        Miami-Dade
Rep. Dean Cannon                       35               (850) 488-2742    dean.cannon@myfloridahouse.gov        Orange
Rep. Charles Chuck"" Chestnut 23               (850) 488-5794    charles.chestnut@myfloridahouse.gov   Alachua, Marion
Rep. Gwyndolen Clarke-Reed    92               (850) 488-0880    gwyn.clarke-reed@myfloridahouse.gov Broward
Rep. Jeff Clemens                         89               (850) 488-0260    jeff.clemens@myfloridahouse.gov         Palm Beach
Rep. Marti Coley                           7                  (850) 488-2873    marti.coley@myfloridahouse.gov           Bay, Calhoun, Gadsden, Jackson, Leon, Liberty, Okaloosa, Wakulla, Walton
Rep. Richard Corcoran                45               (850) 488-8528    richard.corcoran@myfloridahouse.gov  Pasco, Pinellas
Rep. Fredrick W. ''Fred'' Costello 26               (850) 488-9873    fred.costello@myfloridahouse.gov          Flagler, Volusia
Rep. Steve Crisafulli                     32               (850) 488-4669    steve.crisafulli@myfloridahouse.gov      Brevard, Orange
Rep. Janet Cruz                             58               (850) 488-9460    janet.cruz@myfloridahouse.gov              Hillsborough
Rep. Daniel Davis                          13               (850) 488-5102    daniel.davis@myfloridahouse.gov          Clay, Duval
Rep. Jose Felix Diaz                      115             (850) 488-3616    jose.diaz@myfloridahouse.gov                Miami-Dade
Rep. Chris Dorworth                     34               (850) 488-5843    chris.dorworth@myfloridahouse.gov      Orange, Seminole
Rep. Brad Drake                            5                  (850) 488-4726    brad.drake@myfloridahouse.gov            Holmes, Jackson, Okaloosa, Walton, Washington
Rep. Eric Eisnaugle                       40               (850) 488-9770    eric.eisnaugle@myfloridahouse.gov        Orange
Rep. Clay Ford                               3                  (850) 488-0895    clay.ford@myfloridahouse.gov               Escambia, Santa Rosa
Rep. Erik Fresen                             111             (850) 488-4092    erik.fresen@myfloridahouse.gov             Miami-Dade
Rep. Jim Frishe                               54               (850) 488-9960    james.frishe@myfloridahouse.gov          Pinellas
Rep. Reggie Fullwood                   15               (850) 488-7417    reggie.fullwood@myfloridahouse.gov    Duval
Rep. Matt Gaetz (M)                    4                  (850) 488-1170    matt.gaetz@myfloridahouse.gov            Okaloosa, Santa Rosa
Rep. Luis R. Garcia, Jr. (L)           107             (850) 488-9930    luis.garcia@myfloridahouse.gov              Miami-Dade
Rep. Joe Gibbons                           105             (850) 488-0145    joe.gibbons@myfloridahouse.gov           Broward
Rep. Rich Glorioso                        62               (850) 488-0807    rich.glorioso@myfloridahouse.gov          Hillsborough, Pasco
Rep. Eddy  Gonzalez                    102             (850) 488-1683    eddy.gonzalez@myfloridahouse.gov      Broward, Miami-Dade
Rep. Tom Goodson                       29               (850) 488-3006    tom.goodson@myfloridahouse.gov        Brevard, Indian River
Rep. James ''J.W.'' Grant               47               (850) 488-0275    james.grant@myfloridahouse.gov          Hillsborough
Rep. Denise Grimsley                    77               (850) 488-3457    denise.grimsley@myfloridahouse.gov    Collier, Glades, Hendry, Highlands
Rep. Bill Hager                               87               (850) 488-2234    bill.hager@myfloridahouse.gov               Broward, Palm Beach
Rep. Gayle Harrell                         81               (850) 488-8749    gayle.harrell@myfloridahouse.gov          Martin St. Lucie
Rep. Shawn Harrison                    60               (850) 488-3087    shawn.harrison@myfloridahouse.gov    Hillsborough, Pasco
Rep. Doug Holder                          70               (850) 488-1171    doug.holder@myfloridahouse.gov          Sarasota
Rep. Ed Hooper                             50               (850) 488-1540    ed.hooper@myfloridahouse.gov              Pinellas
Rep. Mike Horner                          79               (850) 488-8992    mike.horner@myfloridahouse.gov          Okeechobee, Orange, Osceola, Polk
Rep. Matt Hudson                        101             (850) 488-1028    matt.hudson@myfloridahouse.gov         Broward, Collier
Rep. Dorothy Hukill                      28               (850) 488-6653    dorothy.hukill@myfloridahouse.gov      Volusia
Rep. Clay Ingram                          2                  (850) 488-8278    clay.ingram@myfloridahouse.gov          Escambia
Rep. Evan Jenne                            100             (850) 488-0245    evan.jenne@myfloridahouse.gov            Broward
Rep. Mia Jones (M)                       14               (850) 488-6893    mia.jones@myfloridahouse.gov              Duval
Rep. John Patrick Julien               104             (850) 488-7088    john.julien@myfloridahouse.gov            Miami-Dade
Rep. Martin Kiar                            97               (850) 487-1588    martin.kiar@myfloridahouse.gov            Broward
Rep. Paige Kreegel                         72               (850) 488-9175    paige.kreegel@myfloridahouse.gov        Charlotte, DeSoto, Lee
Rep. Rick Kriseman                      53               (850) 488-9337    rick.kriseman@myfloridahouse.gov       Pinellas
Rep. John Legg                              46               (850) 488-5522    john.legg@myfloridahouse.gov               Pasco
Rep. Ana Rivas Logan                 114             (850) 488-2831    ana.logan@myfloridahouse.gov              Miami-Dade
Rep. Carlos Lopez-Cantera         113             (850) 488-4202    carlos.lopez-cantera@myfloridahouse.gov   Miami-Dade
Rep. Debbie Mayfield                  80               (850) 488-0952    debbie.mayfield@myfloridahouse.gov  Brevard, Indian River, St. Lucie
Rep. Charles McBurney               16               (850) 488-4171    charles.mcburney@myfloridahouse.gov        Duval
Rep. Seth McKeel                          63               (850) 488-9890    seth.mckeel@myfloridahouse.gov          Hillsborough, Polk
Rep. Larry Metz                            25               (850) 488-0348    larry.metz@myfloridahouse.gov             Lake, Seminole, Volusia
Rep. George R. Moraitis, Jr.         91               (850) 488-0635    george.moraitis@myfloridahouse.gov    Broward, Palm Beach
Rep. Peter Nehr                              48               (850) 488-5580    peter.nehr@myfloridahouse.gov              Pasco, Pinellas
Rep. Bryan Nelson                        38               (850) 488-2023    bryan.nelson@myfloridahouse.gov        Orange
Rep. Jeanette M. Nuñez               112             (850) 488-7897    jeanette.nunez@myfloridahouse.gov     Broward, Collier, Miami-Dade
Rep. Marlene O'Toole                   42               (850) 488-5991    marlene.otoole@myfloridahouse.gov     Lake, Marion, Sumter
Rep. Mark Pafford                        88               (850) 488-0175    mark.pafford@myfloridahouse.gov       Palm Beach
Rep. Kathleen C. Passidomo       76               (850) 488-4487    kathleen.passidomo@myfloridahouse.gov   Collier
Rep. Jimmy T. Patronis                6                  (850) 488-9696    jimmy.patronis@myfloridahouse.gov    Bay, Franklin, Gulf
Rep. Steven M. ''Steve'' Perman  78               (850) 488-5588    steve.perman@myfloridahouse.gov       Martin, Okeechobee, Palm Beach, St. Lucie
Rep. W. Keith Perry                       22               (850) 488-0887    keith.perry@myfloridahouse.gov            Alachua, Levy, Marion
Rep. Ray Pilon                               69               (850) 488-7754    ray.pilon@myfloridahouse.gov                Manatee, Sarasota
Rep. Scott Plakon                          37               (850) 488-2231    scott.plakon@myfloridahouse.gov         Orange, Seminole
Rep. Elizabeth W. Porter              11               (850) 488-9835    elizabeth.porter@myfloridahouse.gov    Alachua, Columbia, Dixie, Gilchrist, Lafayette, Suwannee
Rep. Ari Porth                                 96               (850) 488-2124    ari.porth@myfloridahouse.gov                Broward
Rep. Steve Precourt                       41               (850) 488-0256    steve.precourt@myfloridahouse.gov      Lake, Orange, Osceola
Rep. Bill Proctor                             20               (850) 488-2977    bill.proctor@myfloridahouse.gov            Clay, Flagler, St. Johns
Rep. Scott Randolph                    36               (850) 488-0660    scott.randolph@myfloridahouse.gov      Orange
Rep. Lake Ray                               17               (850) 488-4388    lake.ray@myfloridahouse.gov                 Duval
Rep. Betty Reed                            59               (850) 488-5432    betty.reed@myfloridahouse.gov              Hillsborough
Rep. Michelle Rehwinkel Vasilinda               9                              (850) 488-0965                                                    michelle.rehwinkel@myfloridahouse.gov                                                  Gadsden, Jefferson, Leon
Rep. Ronald ''Doc'' Renuart         18               (850) 488-0001    ronald.renuart@myfloridahouse.gov      Duval, St. Johns
Rep. Kenneth L.  Roberson         71               (850) 488-0060    ken.roberson@myfloridahouse.gov        Charlotte, Lee, Sarasota
Rep. Hazelle ''Hazel'' Rogers       94               (850) 488-8234    hazelle.rogers@myfloridahouse.gov       Broward
Rep. Patrick Rooney, Jr.               83               (850) 488-0322    pat.rooney@myfloridahouse.gov            Palm Beach
Rep. Darryl Rouson                      55               (850) 488-0925    darryl.rouson@myfloridahouse.gov        Hillsborough, Manatee, Pinellas, Sarasota
Rep. Franklin Sands                      98               (850) 488-0590    franklin.sands@myfloridahouse.gov      Broward
Rep. Ron Saunders                       120             (850) 488-9965    ron.saunders@myfloridahouse.gov         Miami-Dade, Monroe
Rep. Robert Schenck                    44               (850) 488-6641    robert.schenck@myfloridahouse.gov     Hernando, Pasco, Sumter
Rep. Elaine Schwartz                    99               (850) 488-0465    elaine.schwartz@myfloridahouse.gov    Broward
Rep. Irving ''Irv'' Slosberg             90               (850) 488-1302    irving.slosberg@myfloridahouse.gov      Broward, Palm Beach
Rep. Jimmie T. Smith (J)              43               (850) 488-0805    jimmie.smith@myfloridahouse.gov        Citrus, Hernando, Levy
Rep. William Snyder                     82               (850) 488-8832    william.snyder@myfloridahouse.gov      Martin, Palm Beach, St. Lucie
Rep. Darren Soto                           49               (850) 488-9240    darren.soto@myfloridahouse.gov           Orange, Osceola
Rep. Cynthia A. Stafford             109             (850) 488-0625    cynthia.stafford@myfloridahouse.gov  Miami-Dade
Rep. Kelli Stargel                           64               (850) 488-2270    kelli.stargel@myfloridahouse.gov            Polk
Rep. Richard L. Steinberg            106             (850) 488-0690    richard.steinberg@myfloridahouse.gov  Miami-Dade
Rep. W. Gregory ''Greg'' Steube   67               (850) 488-6341    greg.steube@myfloridahouse.gov            Hillsborough, Manatee, Sarasota
Rep. Dwayne Taylor                     27               (850) 488-0580    dwayne.taylor@myfloridahouse.gov      Volusia
Rep. Geraldine Thompson           39               (850) 488-0760    geraldine.thompson@myfloridahouse.gov    Orange
Rep. Perry E. Thurston, Jr.           93               (850) 488-1084    perry.thurston@myfloridahouse.gov      Broward
Rep. John Tobia                            31               (850) 488-2528    john.tobia@myfloridahouse.gov             Brevard
Rep. Carlos Trujillo                       116             (850) 488-5047    carlos.trujillo@myfloridahouse.gov        Miami-Dade
Rep. Charles E. Van Zant            21               (850) 488-0665    charles.vanzant@myfloridahouse.gov   Bradford, Clay, Lake, Marion, Putnam, Volusia
Rep. James W. Jim"" Waldman  95               (850) 488-3164    jim.waldman@myfloridahouse.gov        Broward
Rep. Barbara Watson                   103             (850) 488-0766    barbara.watson@myfloridahouse.gov   Broward, Miami-Dade
Rep. Will W. Weatherford            61               (850) 488-5744    will.weatherford@myfloridahouse.gov   Hillsborough, Pasco
Rep. Michael B.  Weinstein         19               (850) 488-1304    mike.weinstein@myfloridahouse.gov     Clay, Duval, St. Johns
Rep. Alan B. Williams (A)            8                  (850) 488-1798    alan.williams@myfloridahouse.gov        Gadsden, Leon
Rep. Trudi Williams (T)                75               (850) 488-2047    trudi.williams@myfloridahouse.gov        Collier, Lee
Rep. John Wood                            65               (850) 488-2721    john.wood@myfloridahouse.gov            Polk
Rep. Ritch Workman                    30               (850) 488-9720    ritch.workman@myfloridahouse.gov     Brevard
Rep. Dana D. Young                     57               (850) 488-2770    dana.young@myfloridahouse.gov          Hillsborough